top of page
  • pastormia20

Banned Books of the Bible: Old Testament

Everything seemed up for grabs during the Protestant Reformation of the 16th century — even books of the Bible. When Martin Luther translated the Bible into German, he removed seven books from the Old Testament and put them afterward, calling them Apocrypha. He also similarly moved four New Testament books to the end, including the Letter of James we looked at last week.

To this day, Protestant Bibles have seven fewer books in the Old Testament than Catholic Bibles. Why did Luther remove them? The answer might surprise you.

This Sunday sermon series continues on Banned Books of the Bible. Worship at 9:30am.

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page